Chestnut-tailed Starling (Sturnia malabarica)

Chestnut-tailed Starling 

Sturnia malabarica

Chestnut-tailed Starling (1)

There are three subspecies of the Chestnut-tailed Starling:

  1. Sturnus malabaricus malabaricus: It is the nominate species. North-eastern India, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and north-western Burma.
  2. Sturnus malabaricus nemoricola: Southern China (incl. Taiwan), Burma, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia.
  3. Sturnus malabaricus blythii: Western Ghats in India.

กิ้งโครงแกลบหัวเทา (5)

The adults have a total length of approximately 20 cm. They have grey upperparts and blackish regimes, but the color of the remaining plumage depends on the subspecies.

The sexes are similar, but juveniles have whitish underparts and just chestnut tips to the tail feathers.

กิ้งโครงแกลบหัวเทา (4)Chestnut-tailed Starling

Chestnut-tailed Starling, Thailand

Chestnut-tailed Starling, Thailand

The chestnut-tailed starling is fairly omnivorous, eating fruit, nectar and insects. They fly in tight flocks and often rapidly change directions with great synchrony.

chestnut-tailed starling

 Adult feeding on a flowering tree.

 Voices of Chestnut-tailed Starling.